Letter to the U.S. Congress

On January 8, 2018 24 leaders of the Polish community in the USA, among others from organizations like the Polish American Congress sent a letter to the Members of Congress urging the congessmen and congresswomen to reject the Act H.R. 1226:

The Honorable Members of Congress: 

Ed Royce, Chairman (California), Eliot Engel, Ranking Member (New York), Chris Smith (New Jersey), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (Florida), Dana Rohrabacher (California), Steve Chabot (Ohio), Joe Wilson (South Carolina), Michael McCaul (Texas), Ted Poe (Texas), Darrell Issa (California), Tom Marino (Pennsylvania), Jeff Duncan (South Carolina), Mo Brooks (Alabama), Paul Cook (California), Scott Perry (Pennsylvania), Ron DeSantis (Florida), Mark Meadows (North Carolina), Ted Yoho (Florida), Adam Kinzinger (Illinois), Lee Zeldin (New York), Dan Donovan (New York), Jim Sensenbrenner (Wisconsin), Ann Wagner (Missouri), Brian Mast (Florida), Francis Rooney (Florida), Brian Fitzpatrick (Pennsylvania), Thomas Garrett, Jr. (Virginia), John Curtis (Utah), Brad Sherman (California) Gregory Meeks (New York), Albio Sires (New Jersey), Gerry Connolly (Virginia), Ted Deutch (Florida), Karen Bass (California), William R. Keating (Massachusetts), David Cicilline (Rhode Island), Ami Bera (California), Lois Frankel (Florida), Tulsi Gabbard (Hawaii), Joaquin Castro (Texas), Robin Kelly (Illinois), Brendan Boyle (Pennsylvania), Dina Titus (Nevada), Norma Torres (California), Brad Schneider (Illinois), Tom Suozzi (New York), Adriano Espaillat (New York), Ted Lieu (California).

Dear Member of the House Foreign Affairs Committee,

On December 12, 2017 the U.S. Senate approved Bill S.447, known as “the Justice for Uncompensated Survivors Today (JUST) Act of 2017”. The House Bill H.R.1226, which mirrors the U.S. Senate bill S.447, is presently awaiting evaluation of the House Foreign Affairs Committee.

Attached is a legal evaluation of the proposed House Bill H.R.1226 that we are respectfully submitting for your review. It is our position that H.R.1226 is logically and

legally flawed, as per the attached legal analysis. Moral, historical and political dimensions must be carefully considered as well.

A follow up letter, and a full list of the Polish American signatory organizations monitoring this bill, shall follow within the next several days.

We urge you to reject H.R.1226.


Edward Wojciech Jeśman, President
Polish American Congress of Southern California Los Angeles, California

Andrzej Prokopczuk, President
Polish American Congress of Northern California San Francisco, California

Jerzy Bogdziewicz, President
Polish American Congress of Florida Pompano Beach, Florida

Michael Nidzinski, President
Polish American Congress of Illinois Chicago, Illinois

Anne Bankowski, President
Polish American Congress Michigan Division Hamtramck, Michigan

Wieslaw Wierzbowski, President
Polish American Congress of Eastern Massachusetts Quincy, Massachusetts

Walter Wiesław Gołebiewski
Polish American Congress Florida Western Division Corp. New Port Richey, Florida

James L. Ławicki II, President
Polish American Congress Western New York Division Inc. New York

John (Jan) M. Malek, Founder & President
Polish American Foundation for Economic Research and Education (PAFERE) Torrance, California

Stanislaw Matejczuk, Head Coordinator Polonia Semper Fidelis
New Mexico

Waldemar Biniecki, CEO
Pax Polonica Foundation Manhattan, Kansas

Peter Pachacz, President
Pulaski Association Business and Professional Men, Inc. Brooklyn, New York

Richard Mleczko, President
East Bay Polish American Association Martinez, California

Adam Gromek, President
Polonian Cultural and Pastoral Center Sacramento, California

Leszek Pawlik, CEO
Polonia Institute Torrance, California

Witold Rosowski,
Polish Heritage Council of North America New York, New York

Zygmunt Staszewski, Co-Chair
Polish-Jewish Dialogue Committee New York, New York

Walter Wiesław Gołebiewski
World Research Council on Poles Abroad Florida

Jerzy W. Rozalski
Polish Varieties Radio WNZK Detroit, Michigan

Natalia Kaminski Polish Radio Hour
Los Angeles, California

Mary Lou T. Wyrobek, President
Polish Singers Alliance of America

Ania Karwan, National Director
Polish American Congress of Southern California Los Angeles, California

Edmund Lewandowski, National Director
Polish American Congress of Northern California San Francisco, California

Halina Koralewski
Achilles Poland International Ambassador New York, New York

Zbigniew Koralewski, National Director
Polish Singers Alliance of America Long Island, New York


▪ President of the United States, Donald Trump

▪ Vice President of the United States, Mike Pence

▪ Secretary of State of the United States, Rex Tillerson

▪ President of Poland, Andrzej Sebastian Duda

▪ Prime Minister of Poland, Mateusz Morawiecki

▪ Minister of Foreign Affairs of Poland, Jacek Czaputowicz

▪ Marszalek Sejmu, Marek Kuchciński

▪ Marszalek Senatu, Stanisław Karczewski